In this article you will learn: How to do a payment run
- Prepare payment run
- Checking the payment run file
- Transferring the payment run to your bank
- Deleting or cancelling a payment run
Quick guide to using this functionality:
- Click „Prepare payment run“
- Check the payment run file for accuracy
- Click „Transfer payment run“
- Upload the XML file to your bank
- Mark as „Transferred to bank“
Prepare payment run
To carry out your payment run, you first need to prepare the payment run file. In the main menu, go to Finance / Payment runs and click „Create Payment run“ in the top right corner, then enter the details such as the collection day and the claim period.
Please note:
- If you already have an open payment run, you cannot create a second one. All payment runs must be completed first.
Optionally, you can restrict which open claims are included in the payment run. In the „Create Payment run“ window, tick the checkbox „Restrict period for open claims“ and use the two date fields to define the period:
- „From“: start date of the claim period.
- „Claims up to and including“: end date. All open claims due on or before this date are included.
Please note: With the current payment method, the maximum number of days in the future for debt claims is limited to 14 days in advance. Otherwise a higher chargeback risk is to be expected.
Checking the payment run file
Your payment run is now prepared. It is important that you check the payment run file for accuracy before you transfer it to your bank.
To do so, click on the prepared payment run. This takes you to the detail view of the file. For the check, it is best to use the „Members“ tab and sort by the highest amount. This makes it easier to carry out spot checks. Everything correct? Then you can go back to your payment runs.
Click „Prepare payment run“ in the three-dot menu next to your current payment run and confirm the preparation. The payment run now has the status „open“.
Transferring the payment run to your bank
You have now prepared the payment run, but not yet transferred it to your bank.
You can now select Download bank file (XML) from the three-dot menu. This gives you a payment run file in the correct format for transfer to the bank.
Once you have done this successfully and are sure that the file has been uploaded to your bank, there is one important step you must not forget.
In the three-dot menu you will find the option Mark as „Transferred to bank“. This is important because only then are your members’ contributions considered „debited“.
Deleting or cancelling a payment run
If you discover an error in your payment run, you can either delete or cancel it. You can only do this as long as the payment run has not yet been transferred to MemberCash or your bank.
You can delete the payment run if it has not been finally prepared → i.e. status „Preview“. To do so, go to the three-dot menu of your payment run and click „Delete“.
You can cancel a payment run if it has already been finally prepared but not yet transferred → status „open“. To do so, go to the three-dot menu of your payment run and click „Cancel“.
In this article you will learn: How to do a payment run
- Prepare payment run
- Checking the payment run file
- Transferring the payment run to your bank
- Deleting or cancelling a payment run
Quick guide to using this functionality:
- Click „Prepare payment run“
- Check the payment run file for accuracy
- Click „Transfer payment run“
- Upload the XML file to your bank
- Mark as „Transferred to bank“
Prepare payment run
To carry out your payment run, you first need to prepare the payment run file. In the main menu, go to Finance / Payment runs and click „Create Payment run“ in the top right corner, then enter the details such as the collection day and the claim period.
Please note:
- If you already have an open payment run, you cannot create a second one. All payment runs must be completed first.
Optionally, you can restrict which open claims are included in the payment run. In the „Create Payment run“ window, tick the checkbox „Restrict period for open claims“ and use the two date fields to define the period:
- „From“: start date of the claim period.
- „Claims up to and including“: end date. All open claims due on or before this date are included.
Please note: With the current payment method, the maximum number of days in the future for debt claims is limited to 14 days in advance. Otherwise a higher chargeback risk is to be expected.
Checking the payment run file
Your payment run is now prepared. It is important that you check the payment run file for accuracy before you transfer it to your bank.
To do so, click on the prepared payment run. This takes you to the detail view of the file. For the check, it is best to use the „Members“ tab and sort by the highest amount. This makes it easier to carry out spot checks. Everything correct? Then you can go back to your payment runs.
Click „Prepare payment run“ in the three-dot menu next to your current payment run and confirm the preparation. The payment run now has the status „open“.
Transferring the payment run to your bank
You have now prepared the payment run, but not yet transferred it to your bank.
You can now select Download bank file (XML) from the three-dot menu. This gives you a payment run file in the correct format for transfer to the bank.
Once you have done this successfully and are sure that the file has been uploaded to your bank, there is one important step you must not forget.
In the three-dot menu you will find the option Mark as „Transferred to bank“. This is important because only then are your members’ contributions considered „debited“.
Deleting or cancelling a payment run
If you discover an error in your payment run, you can either delete or cancel it. You can only do this as long as the payment run has not yet been transferred to MemberCash or your bank.
You can delete the payment run if it has not been finally prepared → i.e. status „Preview“. To do so, go to the three-dot menu of your payment run and click „Delete“.
You can cancel a payment run if it has already been finally prepared but not yet transferred → status „open“. To do so, go to the three-dot menu of your payment run and click „Cancel“.